An Artist’s Date to the Vintage Shop

I found a bit of my grandmother this week during my Artist’s Date. As recommended in the book “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron, people looking to develop their artistic muscles should go Artist’s Dates – weekly solo adventures to seek connection and inspiration. I headed to a vintage shop to look over things from estate sales, with special hope of finding cool vintage clothing, textiles and sewing supplies.

As I rummaged through a bin of buttons, I spotted a set of pearly pink oval buttons. Then I spotted another set. And another. Then I saw a set of the same buttons, a bit larger. I pulled them all together for a better look:

IMG_20170517_131241

Seven sets in all – 10 smaller buttons and four larger ones. Clearly, some woman not too long ago had bought all these buttons, intended for a special project. Based on the number and size of the buttons, I’d guess she bought the small buttons for a shirt dress and the larger ones for a matching jacket.

My grandmother used to wear such ensembles to church. I have a few of her sewing patterns from the late 1960s, and you can see the basic look, although these are simple no-button jackets and zip-back shift dresses:

IMG_20160616_194924242

These buttons were pricey originally, so I imagine the woman who bought them had special plans for them that were never fulfilled.

Also, that pearly pink finish spoke to me. My grandmother’s favorite color was pink. She had pearly pink tiles in her kitchen and bathroom. She would have loved these buttons.

I didn’t buy them, because I can’t imagine using them. I was tempted to buy one set, just to have. But then I thought it was better to keep them all together. I hope they find a home – and a worthy project – someday.

Author: shoes15

I live in Connecticut, USA with my husband and my dog, in an old house outfitted with a sewing room, a garden, an orchard, and a big liquor cabinet.

One thought on “An Artist’s Date to the Vintage Shop”

Leave a Reply

