A “Friend” at Work

A woman I work closely with had a goodbye party this week. I didn’t attend. Notice I did not say “a friend from work.” I would like to think of her as my friend, but she’s not, really.

Her husband got a job in a new city, so they’re moving. She’s going to keep her job, but work remotely from now on with occasional trips to see up at the headquarters. She did not want to move, does not want to work remotely, and is actively and vocally dreading the whole thing.

If she were a “friend,” I would feel more comfortable telling her what I really thought about this. My greatest regret in my career is that I put my husband’s career ahead of my own. He was older and more established at the time, so I deferred to him. Today, I have advanced much further in my career – perhaps as far as I can go. He’s in exactly the same place, doing exactly the same thing, and counting down the days (many many days) to retirement.

If she were my friend, I’d tell her not to defer, not to consider her career second-best. It isn’t, for one thing – she’s at a higher level than he is and is more established at a premier company. She also loves living in the city and loves being in the office. She will be miserable working from home full-time and living in a provincial city. Also, her husband sounds very controlling. They got married not even a year ago. She’s forever saying her husband “lets her” do this and that. I find this disturbing. She’s all of 30 years old, and she has a long way to go. I am 47 and I have a bit of wisdom to offer. Yet, all this is none of my business.

I might have considered her a friend, but it’s clear she doesn’t feel this way about me. I actually heard her talking on the phone about me (our desks are next to each other). She started to say “a friend at work” when she stopped. “A fr….. a coworker,” is what came out instead. So she actually stopped herself from calling me a friend, while on a personal phone call, and sitting right next to me.

So,  I keep my mouth shut, skip her going-away party, and count her out.

Can you really have “friends” at work anyway? I was close to a few people at my old job, and we’ve tried to stay in touch. When we get together, though, we talk excessively about the old times, or about the current situation at work if they’re still at the same place. Is this true friendship, or just affinity born of professional convenience?

I have two true “friends” from work – both women I worked with decades ago. Perhaps distance is needed to assess whether a true friendship is in the cards. We’ll see in another 20 years who I still consider a friend.

Author: shoes15

I live in Connecticut with my husband and my dog, in an old house outfitted with a sewing room and a big liquor cabinet.

4 thoughts on “A “Friend” at Work”

  1. I’m sorry your “friend” did that. It’s a crappy thing to say sitting right next to you!
    I’m going through a similar thing. A “friend” at work has begun using me as a scape goat in front of our bosses. Great.
    There’s only a few people from old jobs I keep in touch with and its on Facebook. I think the love dissipates when you’re no longer bonded by work so it’s difficult to stay friends unless you have other interests in common.

    Like

  2. I don’t think there is one work place that doesn’t have some sort of difficulty to it! If she was a true friend you could talk about all sorts of things with each other – including this move – otherwise I consider them to be co-workers. I think I have a couple of friends at work, but like everything time will tell if they continue to be friends over the years, as people and situations do change. That is why a good partner is so important!

    Like

Leave a Reply

